Monday, June 13, 2016

How Comrade Sunny Nwankwo Emerged Olotu Elect

* Selection Process Must Transparent & Democratic

Okonta Emeka Okelum, Asaba, Delta State

The race towards the emergency of Olotu Ahaba zoned to Umuaji quarters has finally become a reality, Asaba Post News Wire reports.

Olotu Ahaba is one of the principal officers of the next set Otu Ihaza (Asaba Traditional Legislative Assembly), who for ten years will make laws for the town.

The over one month selection process employed pure democratic means and process ended peacefully with a no victor, no vanquished stance.

Ogbueshi Emmanuel Enyinabo, Okpala Ukwu Ajaji, from inception of the process vowed to allow only pure democratic process lead to the emergence of an Olotu Elect.

An in house and well represented communal selection and screening process, done before all stakeholders employed 100% democratic process, Ogbueshi Enyinabo told our reporter. 

Of the three aspirants to the stool, Ogbueshi Mike Nwani voluntarily stepped down from the race.
Ogbueshi Nkem Okafor and Comrade Sunny Nwankwo contested for the Olotu stool.

Three persons each from the seven villages within Ajaji Quarter were selected to form the electoral college that casted their votes for the aspirants. 

Comrade Sunny Nwankwo became the Olotu Elect after pulling 16 votes against Nkem Nwankwo's 4 votes, one vote was void.

Umuaji Quarter will be presenting Comrade Nwankwo to Asagba In Council, at the next general meeting of the council. 

Information reaching us has it that Ugbomanta quarter is equally employing pure democratic process for the emergency of an Onoi Elect, another principal officer of the Otu Ihaza, that will serve the town between 2016-2026.

We will keep you posted on the emergence of Onoi elect once the process is completed.

No comments: